Summertime and the Reading is Easy

by West Bend Library on 2020-08-14 12:00:00

With summer reading wrapping up, we want to share the goodies we've found! Check out this blog post for our August Staff Picks. If you see something that sounds interesting, click the link to request it!

Sara: The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory (2018) 

Looking for a good escape read?  In this sweet story, unexpected romance blooms between two young professionals after they meet in a hotel elevator. Living in separate cities, they try to make things work, amid misunderstandings, arguments, getting over past mistakes, and lots of chemistry. Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Helen Hoang.  

Hannah: Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid (2019) 

Everyone knows Daisy Jones & the Six: The band's album Aurora came to define the rock 'n' roll era of the late seventies, and an entire generation of girls wanted to grow up to be Daisy.  No one knows the reason behind the group's split on the night of their final concert at Chicago Stadium on July 12, 1979... until now. Written in the form of interviews with the fictional band members and the people in their orbit, the book is good on paper but becomes great in the full-cast audiobook. 

Darci: American Demon by Kim Harrison (2020) 

The Hollow Series takes place in an urban fantasy alternate history universe and set primarily in the city of Cincinnati and its suburbs.  The series is told in the first-person point of view of Rachel Morgan, a detective/bounty hunter witch who works with local law enforcement agencies and faces threats both mundane and supernatural in origin. The series also focuses on Rachel's relationships with her partners, a living vampire and a pixy, as well as her personal relationships with males of different species.  This book is the most recent of the series.  

Susan: The Last Train to Key West by Chanel Cleeton (2020) 

A series of events connects three women in Key West, just as one of the worst storms ever to form in the Atlantic bears down on the islands in 1935. Each of these women has a distinct story to tell and their connections to one another is revealed over the course of the novel. The author does a wonderful job transporting readers back in time during The Great Labor Day Hurricane of 1935 that hit the Florida Keys.  Good historical fiction novel that is a quick read. 

Terika: Unicorn Rescue Society (2019 series) by Adam Gidwitz 

This is a NYT Best Seller and perfect for readers in Grades 2-4. It is a chapter book for newly independent readers, but interesting enough for adults!   The series focuses on mythical creatures (not just unicorns) and is perfect for boys or girls. I have rarely had such a page turner for my son before that leaves him begging each night for "one more chapter"! 

Mara: Easy Cake Cookbook: 75 Sinfully Simple Recipes for Bake-and-Eat Cakes by Miranda Couse (2019) 

If you are short on time or a cake-loving beginner, this guide offers fail-safe advice and recipes so you can bake fast and delicious cakes whenever you have the craving.  The author is the creator of a popular dessert blog, Cookie Dough and Oven Mitt.  Recipes include Apple Butter Bundt Cake, Maple-Pecan Coffee Cake, Texas Chocolate Skillet Cake, and many more! 

Ryan: The Gordian Protocol by David Weber (2019) 

This newer standalone all-action and time travel novel by New York Times best-selling author, has a balanced mix of interstellar intrigue, counterespionage, and epic fleet action.  If you enjoy a sci-fi action novel with overtones of dystopian and political thrillers, this is for you. 

Emily: Little Faith by Nickolas Butler (2019) 

A Wisconsin family grapples with how to handle a health crisis in Butler's newest novel.  

Fans of Kent Haruf and Elizabeth Strout will enjoy this reflective read that asks – “What is the power and limitations of faith”?